top of page

WHEN YOU TELL HIM TO GO DEEPER BUT HE RUNS OUT OF POETRY

When I was younger, poetry really was my salvation. I've rediscovered it recently, so here are a few gems from way back when..

Shihan - This type love

I don't love love poems, but I love this poem.

I went to his show a few years ago in London and told him he was my inspiration (I wanted to be a poet too at the time), and that I'd write a poem and tag him in it one day. I went a bit nuts and really did the most...

I was basically the skeleton on the left.

But yeah, I still plan to tag him in a poem one day.

Kanye West - Bittersweet

So there was this show called 'Def Jam Poetry', which aired on HBO in the Noughties. Kanye West came on a few times and all his performances were pretty mad.

It's basically just the old Kanye & sets the context nicely for the next poem.

Jasmine Mans - Footnotes for Kanye

Jasmine Mans performance was so accurate and completely worth featuring.

I feel like Kanye West was and still is, very talented.

But, he kinda went against everything it seemed he stood for.

Sabrina Benaim - The Loneliest Sweet Potato

This one is deep and sad- but also beautiful and a little funny- if you're into that kind of thing.

Darius Simpson & Scout Bostley - Lost Voices

I like the concept behind this and feel like it's so relevant in the current political climate.

bottom of page